Welcome to We Got Served Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Remote Web Access From Within My Network Isn't Working

- - - - - whs 2011 launchpad remote web access internet explorer microsoft

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

James.Oody

James.Oody

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello,

I seem to be having an issue that either no one else ever had or no one knows how to fix. I've researched several different forums and can't find a definite answer. I've accepted the fact that i'm not an expert and could be doing something wrong that is painfully obvious to others. Here's what is happening.

I got Windows Home Server 2011 installed on a fairly new Dell desktop. It far exceeds the hardware requirements. I added user accounts to correspond to the accounts on the computers that i was going to install the connector software on. I installed the connector software on my desktop and my laptop. The WHS Dashboard works on both machines no problem. Most of the functions on the Launchpad work too, except for one. On neither my laptop or my desktop I can't get the Remote Web Access function to work. When I click it, it starts my default browser, attempts to connect to https://SERVERNAME.homeserver.com, but returns an "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" message.
error.JPG
The only way to get the page to load is to use the IP of the server in the address bar. When I do this I get a certificate error.
error2.JPG